Archive for February 9th, 2012

February 9, 2012

Gratitude In The Darkness

“Darkness deserves gratitude. It is the alleluia point at which we learn to understand that all growth does not take place in the sunlight.”
— Joan D. Chittister

In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.And the earth was without form and void, and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters. Genesis 1:1

In my study of the Ancient Hebrew I have discovered that the first words of scripture are pregnant with the plan, purpose and eternal destiny of man and their God. Here, in the darkness of the womb of  “before” we see the Spirit and the Word and the Heart of God fluid, and active, and alive in the darkness.  The hidden message holds the key to believing in the light when all we have is shadow of substance.

Bet, Resh, Aleph, Shin Yod, Tav… the first word of the Gospels…Brashyt- Genesis-In the beginning….

Before there was light, form, function, or order,

from the chaos that knew not the light of the almighty,

the strong first controller prepared a house for his Son,

who is the heir , head and firstfruit of all things,

and sent him as  a  gift to his creation

as a sign of the covenant.

It makes me pause in awe to think that before he even created light from darkness, or land from water, he had me in mind. A desire to bring me into the covenant of His Son in eternal relationship.  Of my circumstances I truly can say…”is there anything to difficult for my God?” The star breathing, Father of Lights who knows my name.