Archive for February 24th, 2012

February 24, 2012

And After-The voice of Mom.

I Kings 19:11-12

-and after the wind an earthquake; and after the earthquake a fire;and after the fire a still small voice.

The still small voice is the “Bat Kol” of scripture. The daughter voice of God. The gentle, soft feminine, almost an echo. The nurturing sound of a Mother’s heart. I wonder …

What are you doing here Elijah?

I am empty, and I couldn’t find you

I am not to be found in manifestations of power alone Elijah…there is more to me than wind,earth,fire-

What are you doing here Elijah?

I am hurting, and alone.

You are not alone, there are seven thousand who haven’t kissed the hand of Baal.

What are you really doing here?

I need to know you.

I  knew if I came you would meet me- and I am tired.

I want to come home.

I just marvel that God chose to speak to Elijah in the feminine soft whisper of the Bat Kol in Elijah’s moment of deepest despair.  From that voice he received instruction, encouragement, rebuke, and purpose.   God has given us to the earth to share that part of His heart.  We as women can speak to the pain and despair of others from a personal place of knowing that envelops the broken and lifts up the weary hands that hang down, and propels lives back on the path of living.  If we could see sorrow as opportunity to grow in the ministry of “voice” how many more Elijah’s would move from their caves of resolution to anoint kings, mentor disciples, and be caught up to heaven in chariots of fire? In our words lie the power of life and death, choose life!